Women's History Month

Women's History Month | March 2022 A Brighter Future Is Blooming

Women of Courage, Character and Commitment
Nebraska Union Plaza and Broyhill Fountain

Schedule of Events

2022 Robert E. Knoll Lecture

  • Hosted by Department of English
  • Lecture given by Jamie Harker
  • March 3, 2022
  • 5:30 p.m.
  • Andrews Hall, Bailey Library

Women Lead: Leading Through Change

  • Hosted by College of Business and College of Law
  • March 4, 2022
  • 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Nebraska Innovation Campus

Women's History Month Celebration

  • Hosted by the Women's Center
  • March 24, 2022
  • 3 to 5 p.m.
  • Nebraska East Union, Great Plains Room

IES Spring Celebration 2022: "Black Women and the Struggle for Human Rights"

  • Hosted by Department of English
  • Keynote by Dr. Keisha Blain, University of Pittsburgh
  • March 31, 2022
  • 7:30 to 9:30 p.m.
  • Sheldon Museum of Art, Ethel S. Abbott Auditorium
  • Broadcast will also be offered live over Zoom

Awards & Recognitions

Women of Courage, Character, and Commitment | Award Honorees 2022

Presented by the Women's Center, this award recognizes women from our campus and Lincoln communities who have made positive impacts though professional, personal, mentoring, or peer relationships. Honorees receive a free ticket to the Women's History Month Celebration on March 24, 2022, where they will be recognized and presented with the award.


  • Rana Aribi  |  senior, Business Administration, CBA
  • Murphy Cavanaugh  |  first-year law
  • Meyri Ibrahim  |  junior, Political Science, CAS / Journalism, CoJMC
  • Cassandra Neal  |  graduate student, Educational Administration, CEHS
  • Liv O'Clair  |  junior, Psychology, CAS
  • Izdihar (Vianne) Sheikh  |  senior, Emerging Media Arts, HLCFPA


  • Stephanie Alderson  |  assistant director, Women's Center, Student Affairs
  • Tricia Besett-Alesch  |  director, Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS), Student Affairs
  • Tamy Burnett  |  assistant director, University Honors Program
  • Katie Jewell  |  associate director of academic programs, Athletics
  • Lanie Stutz  |  victim advocate, Center for Advocacy, Response, and Education (CARE), Student Affairs


  • Allison Bonander | |  assistant professor of practice, Communication Studies, CAS
  • Stephanie Bondi  |  associate professor of practice, Educational Administration, CEHS
  • Amanda Gailey  |  associate professor, English, CAS
  • Kim Hansen  |  assistant professor of practice, Biological Sciences, CAS
  • Keri Mesropov  |  professional in residence, CoJMC
  • Regina Werum  |  professor, Sociology, CAS

Outstanding Contributions to the Status of Women Awards | 2022 Honorees - TBA

The Chancellor's Commission on the Status of Women recognizes outstanding faculty, staff, and students who have worked to create a climate that encourages women-identifying individuals to succeed at Nebraska. Two awards--one for faculty or staff members and one for students or student organizations--will be presented at the Women's History Month Celebration on March 24. View the lists of past recipients on the commission website.

Women's History Month Celebration

The annual Women's History Month Celebration (formerly Dinner) is March 24, 2022 from 3 to 5 p.m. in the Nebraska East Union, Great Plains Room. The RSVP Form is now closed. If you have any questions, please contact Taylor at wcga@unl.edu.